Posted by: Leslie White | April 11, 2010

How to Train Your Dragon

Alright. I’ll admit that the trailers for Dreamworks latest animated film “How to Train Your Dragon” did not at first inspire much interest. It seemed to be another 3d film full of slap stick comedy and mediocre animation. Then I looked up the movie on Rotten Tomatoes, and was surprised to see that it has so far received a 98% positive score from reviewers and critiques. After speaking with my friend Marion who also had seen and loved the movie, I got excited. I also checked in with some old animation friends and this is the answer I got: Possibly Dreamwork’s best yet.

So I saw the movie last night.

Concept art from How To Train Your Dragon

Not only was it the best animated film I have seen in the past 2 years, but it is also one of the best films I have seen in a looong time. Every production aspect of this movie was flawless. The story line has a familiar theme (boy befriends “monster”) but with a unique take.  The music was moving, the character development had depth, the humor was original, and oooooh my the animation..

The human characters were beautifully rendered…their skin and hair were perhaps the most convincing, from the large Viking beards down to the tiny scar on Hiccup’s chin. The dragons both in design and personality were exciting to watch on the ground and in the air. The flight scenes in this film rival those of Avatar.

If you have the opportunity, see this film in 3D. At any rate, just see the movie in theaters. I intend to see it at least once more before it leaves theaters, and will among those queuing up to buy the DVD on its release date. Bravo, Dreamworks!

Leave a Reply

Categories

