Posted by: Leslie White | May 14, 2010

Flash animation…at last.

Now that classes are out, I have some time work on some personal projects. I have wanted to learn Flash animation since 2004 when I saw this animation and discovered one of my favorite animators Adam Phillips. After six years of the “…oh, I’ll learn it somedayexcuse, I am finally learning Flash. I am using the Lynda.com tutorials to get started, which are fantastic for people who have never used the software before. I was happy to discover that the flash interface is very similar to After Effects, which I know from animating Caution at the University of Iowa.  I am creating a few animated shorts to make sure I am getting the hang of things, might post these to my YouTube channel later this week.

Here are some inspirational flash animations, including one more from Adam Phillips:

The Yuyu by Adam Phillips

Insanely Twisted Shadow Puppets by Michel Gagné

Leave a Reply

Categories

